An Ode to European Yogurt

Just recently, Belgium made the news in an unflattering light.  A study ranking diets worldwide showed that Belgium ranked number three on the list of least healthy diets.  I mean, who’s surprised?  Belgium is known for waffles, beer, fries and cheese.  And yet, as I look around, most people I see are fairly thin.  And it’s not as if they are all working off their beer and fries lunches with a quick run around the neighborhood.  I can probably count on two hands the amount of people I have seen running for exercise in the two years that I’ve lived here.  Who knows, though?  Maybe they are all doing sit ups on their living room floors at night or push ups at their office desks, but that’s highly unlikely.  Now, weight isn’t always an indicator of health, but we are talking about a diet study.

When I first went grocery shopping here in Belgium, it was a bit of a surprise to see that “low-fat” isn’t a thing here.  Where was all the light mayonnaise?  Or baked chips?  Or low-cal dressing?  Some products do exist, but it’s tough to pick them out on the shelf.  (Except the Coca-Light.  That’s easy to find.)  I came to the realization that people here eat the good stuff.  They just do it in moderation.

And moderation is key, especially when it comes to French yogurt.

101_0166

The yogurt aisle in the dairy section of the grocery store is huge.  Massive.  And full of super, duper good yogurt.  Full fat yogurt.  Made with real milk and real cream and real sugar.  My favorite, by far, is made by La Fermière.

101_0156

I was only recently introduced to La Fermière yogurt by my friend, Laura.  (Hi, Laura!)  She was telling me about a really good yogurt that came in the cutest little pots.  Something yummy in cute, reusable packaging?  I’m in!  So, I stopped by the grocery store and picked some up and wasn’t expecting crazy goodness, since I’m not actually a yogurt fan.  But what I found out is that I’m not actually an American yogurt fan.  This stuff was good.  Like, eat it for dessert good.

101_0178

And the little pots?  Bonus!  They are the most adorable, terracotta or glass pots you will ever eat yogurt out of.  Heat proof, oven proof, recyclable (not that I will ever toss any of them out).  In need of a container to hold little things?  Or how about a candle holder?  A pot for seed starting?  Or a tiny little vase?  Done.

And that moderation thing?  I’m still learning.  So, my collection is growing.  I hope every teacher that either of my kids ever has will be in need of an authentic French yogurt pot, filled with chocolates or a candle, wrapped in paper and tied with a bow, because that is what they will all be getting for Christmas for the next several years.

101_0184

So, if you can think of anything else that I might be able to do with my little yogurt pots, please let me know.  Because my collection is probably too big already.  And I’m running out of space under my kitchen sink for the extras.  Guess it’s time to work on that moderation thing.

 101_0212

Leave a Reply

