What I’ll Miss, part one

We knew it was coming, obviously.  To prepare we’ve been emptying the basement, scouring Zillow, making lists of lasts.  I’ve been avoiding buying large bottles of anything, from vinegar to dish soap.  Because the Navy has finally given us our moving date and I can count on two hands the number of weeks we have left living in this country.

We are getting ready to leave Belgium and we’re headed back to the States.

It took me a long time to warm up to this tiny country and now that I’m finally (sort of) comfortable, the Navy is moving us somewhere else, a situation that I’m fully used to.  After all, this is our eighth move in 15 years.  But that doesn’t make it any easier.

So, as has been my custom for the past three moves, I feel the need to tell everyone about the things I will miss about our current hometown before we move on to the next one, if only to give myself a little bit of closure.  It’s my way of saying goodbye.

*******

Culture Fruitiere du Point du Jour

102_0452

For several years now, going apple picking has been one of our first steps to usher in fall.  For the past three years, we’ve done it at Culture Fruitiere du Point du Jour, in Henripont.  We’ve been as a family and the kids have gone with both school groups and scouts.

It’s a small, family run orchard.  Most of the family is quite pleasant, though Grandma can come off as a bit crabby, but the sweetest dog makes up for her.  Several different varieties of apples are ready at different times during the season.

102_0536

I’m sure Ohio will have acres of apples for us to pick next fall, but, as our moving history has shown, we don’t often get to hit the same place three seasons in a row and for that reason, Culture Fruitiere du Point du Jour makes it on my list of things I’ll miss about Belgium.

102_0542

102_0487

One thought on “What I’ll Miss, part one

Leave a Reply

